Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

alice-frenz-laser-cut-design-luminary-for-childhood-cancer-awareness-friends-of-faith-pruden-foundation-600x840-60

I wanted to learn more about designing for laser cutting. So I designed this paper lantern, or luminary that holds an LED candle using my artwork for Friends of Faith Pruden Foundation.

alice-frenz-laser-cut-lantern-design-childhood-cancer-awareness-faith-pruden-foundation-750x536-70

First I developed the 3D shaping I had in mind and constructed hand cut tests to refine the shaping. Then I drew the 3D pattern pieces in Adobe Illustrator as vector line art. Next I added vector artwork I had created for the Friends of Faith Pruden Foundation scholarships and childhood cancer awareness work and began cutting tests of my design in the Fab Lab at CCAD.

alice-frenz-laser-cut-luminaries-childhood-cancer-awareness-friends-of-faith-pruden-foundation-750x536-60

At first I thought I would be lining the insides with yellow vellum paper to create glowing silhouettes of Gold Ribbons; the symbol for childhood cancer awareness. But when I tested my design with the warm white battery operated LED candles I had ordered, their yellowish light worked perfectly with plain white vellum paper as the lining, giving off a soft golden glow.

alice-frenz-laser-cut-design-friends-of-faith-pruden-foundation-luminary-for-childhood-cancer-awareness-600x840-60

After laser cutting several iterations to refine my design, I ended up creating a movable lid that slides up the handle to get the LED candle in and out, to turn it on and off. I then cut and constructed 8 lanterns from my final design to donate to Friends of Faith Pruden Foundation. And had fun taking pictures of them assembled all together before they left my house.

alice-frenz-design-childhood-cancer-awareness-luminaries-friends-of-faith-pruden-foundation-600-840-70

©2017 Alice Frenz  all rights reserved

Read more about my artwork for Friends of Faith Pruden Foundation in this post.

my illustrated gold ribbons

 

Save