Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

jazz-blossoms-art-deco-alice-frenz-fabric-design-spoonflower-875x700-70

Using Adobe Illustrator, I created the motifs for this design. Then I assembled them into an initial pattern layout.

jazz blossoms-motifs-made-in-ai-alice-frenz-900x720-70

I exported the initial layout as a .png file and opened it in Photoshop. I applied the offset filter to wrap around 1/2 the vertical and 1/2 the horizontal distances. This moved the empty black areas to the center for editing.

alice-frenz-applied-offset-filter-822x808-70

I chose this method because the center of my design had the spacing just as I liked it but needed the outer edges revised. After applying the offset filter, my outer edges will now align perfectly with each other when I tile out the pattern in repeat.

tile-pattern-design-alice-frenz-why-offset-fileter-wrap-around-900x648-70

Next I selected each quadrant, cut and Edit > Paste Special > Paste in Place, to get each on its own layer. I used layer masks to hide the excess black areas of the top 2 quadrants. Then I selected the top 2 quadrants and moved them together straight down to meet up and align with the bottom 2.

jazz-blossoms-pattern-photoshop-tile-in-progress Alice-frenz-786x664-85

Then I cropped the tile to the new top edge.

I used a layer mask to hide the excess black area of the lower right quadrant. Then selected both right side quadrants and moved them to the left to overlap and align, closing up the extra black space.

step-4-jazz-blossoms-photoshop-repeat-tile-in-progress-alice-frenz-798x611-85

I cropped to the new right edge. Now I had a repeatable tile with the excess black removed.

jazz-blossoms-art-deco-repeat-pattern-tile-alice-frenz-v4-750x811-70

To test the revised design, I entered the pattern tile in Photoshop’s pattern library. Edit > Define Pattern and selected this new pattern tile. Then in a new larger document Edit > Fill > Contents: Pattern and Custom Pattern: select the new pattern. An alternate to test filling in a new document is to add a pattern fill layer to the same document and scale the pattern down.

test-of-tile-jazz-blossoms-tile-version-1-adobe-illustrator-to-photoshop-alice-frenz-789x900-70

Looking at the test repeat of the tile, I could see that the repeat was working, but there were a number of changes I wanted to make.

If you compare this test to the final design below, you’ll see that I removed one each of the duplicate vertical rows of medium size motifs, changed the centers of the largest diamond motifs, and rotated the tile 90 degrees for a more horizontal emphasis.

jazz-blossoms-art-deco-alice-frenz-fabric-design-spoonflower-875x700-70

©2018 Alice Frenz all rights reserved.

My Jazz Blossoms Art Deco design is available for sale on Spoonflower and Roostery

roostery pillow 300x334-100